PBT HEMA Throat Protector

The HEMA Throat protector from PBT is a great way to make sure, that you survive your training session when thrusts and neck shots come into play.

They are to be worn under the upper body protection of your choice and they give additional hard protection to the throat from the front and the sides. They can also be worn alone under the fencing mask to provide better stability to the bib of the mask when drilling. The flaps on the two sides provide protection to the collar bones, which is a nice touch. They are available in junior and senior sizes. I personally got the junior sized, because they were out of stock from the larger one, but they worked fine for me.
20140417_173727
Available at:
http://pbthistoricalfencing.com/products/

6 thoughts on “PBT HEMA Throat Protector

  1. I personally find that it gets in the way of my mask when wearing it under. The collar pushes up my mask and forces my head back at an angle.

    I’m using a ‘L’ size LP coach mask with an ‘M’ size AP jacket, just for reference.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the information!

    I didn’t have the kind of problem you are describing. I’m using a size 2 PBT HEMA Mask (1600N) and also a PBT fencing jacket over my throat guard, when fencing.

    Like

  3. IMO this is an extremely dangerous piece of kit. There is absolutely no protection at the join where the parts meet. It desperately needs improvement.

    Neck injuries are potentially lethal. Look after yourself.

    Like

    1. That is a valid concern, altough I never thought it could be a problem, because of the thick clothing worn over it.
      What kind of neck/throat protection do you prefer? Would you write a review about it ?

      Like

  4. I’m wondering: what neck circumference do you have? I have a 34 cm neck. PBT’s sizing says that the Junior size is 31cm circumference. Does the velcro strap adjust for slightly larger sizes? Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi!

      Sorry for the late reply I had very little time to update the site.
      I have around 37 cm neck circumference, and I have used the junior size for around 3 years now without any problems.

      Like

Leave a comment